Café Medina

Café Medina, the place where everyone raves about their famous waffles and specialty latte/mocha. I never had the opportunity to try this place out until last week. Of course, I was super duper excited!

I got there a little after 11:30am and there was quite a line up. It was my first time there, so I wasn’t quite sure how the whole waiting process worked. I walked into the café and found out I simply had to write my name and the number of people on the notepad by the wall. My friend and I got seated in about 30-40 minutes or so.

For drinks, I ordered the white chocolate pistachio rosewater mocha. I really enjoyed it, it wasn’t too bitter nor overly sweet.

IMG_4728[1]

For food, I ordered the Fricasse ($16) –  2 fried eggs, braised short ribs, roasted potatoes, balsamic onions, watercress and smoked applewood  cheddar. Grilled Foccacia. I wanted poached eggs but they don’t do poached eggs during lunch, so I opted for over-easy eggs. This came in a skillet and is served with toasted (garlic? butter?) bread. Although there wasn’t a lot of short ribs and it is towards the pricey side, but it was surprisingly better than I expected so it’s justified. It was delicious!

IMG_4729

My friend ordered the Sauman Fume ($12) –  Open faced ciabatta sandwich. Fried egg, smoked salmon  caper cream cheese, sliced avocado, arugula peppadew  and artichoke salad. I tried a little bit of it and it tasted alright. I didn’t find it spectacular or anything. She seemed to have enjoyed it. We both expected to have slices of smoked salmon in it but it turned out to be mixed in with the cream cheese.

IMG_4730

Afterwards, we also ordered waffles to share because I’ve never tried it before. We got milk chocolate lavender and white chocolate pistachio rosewater topping/sauces to go with that. To be honest, I thought their waffles were just alright or perhaps, I’m just not the biggest Belgium waffle fan. However, I did like their milk chocolate lavender sauce a lot and it was definitely one of a kind.

IMG_4731

Their service was quick and friendly, and I liked how they split the bill for us without asking.

Overall, I was enjoyed my visit to Café Medina!

Cafe Medina on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Café Medina

Leave a Reply

